hide and seek in the pantry..

A bit of Monday true or false. Do jellybeans contain gluten?…

…….

……

True!

Something I didn’t find out until the weekend. By accident.

After I had eaten half a pack.

Crap and double crap.

It’s funny how most of my food patterns have been completely re-set, however there are some foods, when they are placed in front of me, I just reach for without thinking.

Open mouth, in it goes.

I don’t even think about it.

What’s in it and definitely whether it is any good for me.

But within minutes I started to wonder if it did have wheat in it.

The waves of nausea, the drowsiness and mild headache had started to kick in.

One quick scan of the label confirmed the fears, it did contain gluten.

Lucky for me, I only experienced a couple of the side effects rather than the full suite which I often endure.

So thought I’d put up a post on the most random items which contain gluten, Jelly beans being one.

Other GF people be on the look out, it is in everything!

x J

Top 10 hidden offenders

1) Jelly Beans/licorice

2) Soy Sauce

3) Hot dogs

4) Processed meats – ie salami, ham, turkey meat, pepperoni, bacon

5) Blue Cheese

6) Malt vinegar

7) Beer

8) Red and White Wine (it is GF but the barrels it is stored is often coated in a substance containing gluten)

9) Pickles (yep when malt vinegar is used!)

10) Mustard – whole grain and djion are the toughest ones to find GF

Leave a comment